Skilled Migration and “Skill Select”

Skilled Migration

We’re just 9 weeks away from arguably the biggest and most significant changes ever made to Skilled Migration in Australia.  From July 1, 2012, the six Points tested skilled migration visa classes will be replaced by just three classes.  The new classes will be:

  • Subclass 189 – Skilled – Independent (Permanent)
  • Subclass 190 – Skilled – Sponsored (Permanent)
  • Subclass 489 – Skilled – Regional (Provisional)

There wil be no differentiation between onshore and offshore visas.

Importantly, after July 1, prospective migrants will not be able to lodge a visa application for any of these visas unless they are invited.  The process will involve an Expression of Interest, which needs to be lodged online.

Further information can be found here.

There are some interesting implications of the new process and we would be happy to discuss these with you.   Bear in mind that the changes are not final until the legislation is passed, which will be closer to July 1.   If you are considering a Skilled Visa for Australia, please contact us for more information.






Leanne Stevens

CEO, Emergico // Registered Migration Agent (#1171279)